Thursday, February 4, 2010

18 steps Pathinettam Padi

Swamy Sharanam Anna
What is the actual meaning of 18 steps which is there in sanidhanam. becasue i have heared lot of menaing for the same viz 18 puranas. 18 gunas, 18 mountains around sabarimala, etc... I want to know what is actual meaning of the same and after claiming we attain the Lord which is called "THAATVAMAASI" you hav written the meaning of the same in ur book but since i dont knw to read i did not knw the actual meaing.
Awaiting to your reply
Swamy Sharanam
18 Steps.... are equated to

18 Puranas
18 Mountains
18 Ayudhams
18 Siddhas
18 Devatas
18 Gunas

There are various explanations suiting each of the above statement.

You can also find ample of proof justifying each stand ...

"Padi Pathinettum Puranangal Aakkiya Premaswaroopandae Ananda Mandapam..." says an old sharana vili

There are 18 mountains surrounding Sabarimalai and each one is represented through one step of the padhinettu padi...

Ayyappan has 18 Ayudhams... he left each one of the ayudham while ascending the peetam and hence each step has or represents an aydham of Ayyappan. - Weapons which kills (the enemies) and at the same time protect (the devotees)

All our Shastras greatly exclaim about the 18 siddha purushas... These siddha purushas have surrendered to Lord Sastha who is the Yogeeshwara and obtained the status or privilege of being his Ashtadasha Peetam(18 Steps)

18 Special Devatas are installed in the 18 steps.. During the customary Padi Pooja - these dieties are worshipped...

Confused ...?

All these are implications.... Everything is true as far as this is concerned... you cant deny of the above statement... "It is there - because it is there" - is the best answer

As per the divine will of Lord Ayyappa all these things happen...

Now just go in the reverse order...

There are eighteen devatas who are the adhishtana moorthis of 18 mountain ranges(or Parivara devats) who are installed in the 18 steps... and Sastha was seated above all (here the steps are not built.. but it is done as a pratishta... that is the most important thing and uniqueness of Sabarimalai... )

When Ayyappa avatara took place he renounced his prince hood and left his ayudhams one by one on each of the step of Pathinettampadi... and merged with Sastha

Further 18 siddha purushas who wanted to serve the Lord, installed their divine presence in the 18 steps to serve him as well as bless the devotees..

Just imagine, the Swami is same everywhere.. at Achankovil, Aryankavu or Kulathupuzhai, Coimbatore or Banglore... But the 18 steps are unique here... You can see the Lord even without the vrutham. But you cannot step the Padinettampadi without Vrutham... Thats its speciality..

Bcoz.. By climbing the steps - You are actually stepping the zone of a Particular devata who guards it... and only if you have the Vrutha Balam - you qualify - "you pass the exam" - you are blessed.

(These devatas are worshipped during the Padi Pooja - this detail is not known or not revealed to many.. I can humbly claim that Iam blessed to have the actual process and the actual list of devatas of all the 18 steps along with their dhyanam - moola mantram and everything)

Now you can see - Every statement given above is true...

And thats not the end...

Every divine aspect has a direct side and an esoteric meaning... For Example Rama's war with with Ravana to unite with Seetha - is not a mere story but the aikyam of Jeevathma and Paramatma

Similarly the 18 steps has an esoteric meaning -
that one who conquers the 18 Gunas becomes Bhagawan... thats THATHVAMASI

Each year you follow the Vrutham to 100% sincerity, you climb one step or rise one level in your spiritual progress... the inner refinement happens.. (that is the actual purpose of Sabarimalai yatra.. if this is not happening.. there is no use even if you go 1008 times)

Similarly when you overcome the 18 gunas... you become pure and attain the state of oneness with the Lord - the state is called THATHVAMASI.

THATHVAMASI is a Maha Vakyam from the Vedas meaning - "You know that you and that are One"..

Unfortunately, we have neither understood the direct meaning nor the esoteric meaning

Let that evercompassionate Lord bless us with the Gnana and Bhakti and the inner drive to understand His significance...

Hariharaputram Sadhaa Bajeham Maaya Kaaryam Thyejeham

V.Aravind Subramanyam (Sastha Aravind)

பார் புகழும் சபரிமலை பதினெட்டும் கடந்த நிலை ஸ்ரீ
சக்ர பீடமதில் சின்மயானந்த பாலன் மகரம் சூழ் நன்னாளில் யோகியாய் ஜோதியாய் இரண்டென காட்சி தந்து இருவினை களையும் போது உருகி வரும் அடியவர்கள் சரணங்கள் விளிக்கும் போது தருணமாய் வந்து காக்கும் என் ஐயன் ஐயப்ப ஸ்வாமியே.... சரணம் ஐயப்பா
Paar Pukuazhum Sabarimalai. Pathinettum Kadantha Nilai Shri Chakra Peetamathil Chinamayanandha Baalan... Makaram Soozh Nannaalil Yogiyay.. Jyotiyaay.. Irendena Kaatchi Thanthu Iru Vinaiyum kalaiyum poothu Uruki varum adiyavarkal Sharanangl Vilikkum Pothu Tharunamaai Vanthu Kaakkum Yen Ayyan Ayyappa Swamiye.. Sharanam Ayyappa !


  1. thanks for sharing the knowledge .....please write more if you know .......share and spread the knowledge.........have that kindness....

  2. Thanks for the wonderful explanation and synchrony. Feel blessed to have got to the item. No wonder the Lord reveals to the needy in his own way.

    Having visited the shrine 3 times in 94, 95, 96, wanted to continue for 18 times but yes unless we have the Knowledge and importance of the steps its not complete. Wish and pray each of the devotees understand the concept and significance to proceed further to the darshanam of the Lord ayyappa. This will elevate individual to the supreme blessing of having taken birth as human status to become immortal.

  3. Good Article to read and understand.